101 Minus 8th and 9th – About Finances

Standard

Goal No. 79: Invest more on Mutual Fund
Have been thinking about a lot of things and one of them is about savings for the future. I have learned a lot (or I mean I put it in my hard brain again what I knew all along) about finances and future. I resolved that I have to have a constant thoughts about saving rather than spending. If I don’t usually flinch in spending for something, I should adopt the same attitude about putting them in safe saving. “Safe’ means I should not be able to retrieve it easily and without undue and dire reason. So, I am into Mutual Fund thing. I made sure that every month or everytime there’s unexpected receipt (like Lola Baby’s gift to Aliya and insurance proceeds), I put it into Mutual Fund. I have now also developed the habit of looking at the value of my investment everyday. Well, glad to say, that it is truly growing. 🙂

(Hey, it is also in mutual fund where I put the committed $20 or P500 saving for every goal accomplished here in 101)

Goal No. 84: Decide on the Old Insurance Plan (to Keep or Withdraw)
I made costly mistake by not being so conscious about the investments I made in the past. And now I have to decide whether to straigthen this up and continue with the policy or to recoup what’s left and cut further losses. I made honest assessment about my future intentions and capability if I will choose to continue it, and I have to be realistic… this will again become my least priority. So, I decided to withdraw whatever cash surrender value left from it (after deducting the interest accrued from the unpaid premium). I just console myself that if I will further delay my decision, the cash value will further diminish. So, I pulled it out and will put it in Mutual Fund. 🙂 😦

Done October 22, 2009

One response »

  1. will you post to my site called tractorum ray what the name of your mutual fund you invested in above comment is?..i am interested in money and investments…maybe you found a good mutual fund? i had fidelity magellan 20 years ago..i stumbled uponb it…
    my 43 things name is tractorum,my name is melvin..i live in the midwest in the usa…i like your site and your goals thanks.cheers…thanks life /….thankd god…thanka everything
    very nice butterfly effect site…happy wingbeats to you,son and family..happy new year

Leave a Reply

