“Lived Fully, Died Empty”

Standard

This is “patented” to be used by Bro Jojo Baldo— a favorite speaker– on his tombstone: “HERE LIES A DISCIPLE OF JESUS…. HE LIVED FULLY; HE DIED EMPTY!”. On my day of death, I will have given away all!

Since I’d heard it, I’ve been contemplating on these words. I’ve started to see life and what it offers everyday as my another chance to be a “better me” than I was yesterday….. that I have to give and show what I have to offer back to life…. that eventually, on my last day, I could proudly say, “I have given away all!”

It’s now becoming my everyday goal to do something that gears towards the accomplishments of my goals… I am consciously doing things to make my day worthwhile, and so does the day of people I love around me.

When I was asked during a seminar by (another) speaker, “how long it would take you to make your dreams come true?” I instantly said, “having given my almost 10 hrs of my day to work, well, I still have 3 hours left for me EVERYDAY to make my dreams come true….” Well, I knew (by the look of his face) that I have given him an incorrect answer, the one he is not expecting (his answer was, “I don’t know” because he said we don’t know if we’ll ever achieve our dreams because we don’t know if we’ll ever live tomorrow!)… Well, he is right, I agree. But it’s either I got his question wrong… or I have different perspective than what he had in mind…

He is right, but I still stand to my answer, because I know I take each moment of my life EVERYDAY towards my dreams, may it be grand or simple, or just sheer pleasures of doing things that matters, or tiny steps to reach certain dreams. Having considered also the “dooms-day theory,” I know I am WORKING on my dreams EVERYDAY.

I am now in the wake of a wonderful Tita 😦 (who may not have “given all and everything” in the perspective of people around her, but who knows, she might be probably felt satisfied all her life just happy seeing us all succeed and grow, and have contributed on it in the process— but that’s different story…), that’s why probably I been in this contemplating mood…

Now it made me think again…. I have to formulate my own epitaph for my own tombstone…. (since, I cannot borrow anymore from Bro. Jojo’s)…. and I want to imagine that everyone (my mourners, i mean) will “agree” on it…

…and I realized that I don’t have to stray away from the theme of this blogsite, or rather from the theme of my life…. because I been living on this creed (or trying to)…. 🙂

So, I want my epitaph be read as:
“She Took Each Moment as it Comes For All That It Is Worth… She Lived Her “Dash” Fully”

(this may not be quite original as this is inspired also by Og Mandino’s Seed of Success and poem “How Do You Live Your Dash” by an anonymous author)


image source

One response »

  1. I will this be printed on a tarp inay and I will place it at the entrance of your wake…
    then to your epitaph.

    I need to have my own to…:D

Leave a Reply

