Jolo is in High School Now

Standard

How time flies! Now Jolo is in High School, all grown-up and getting more “independent”… I’m having a mixed feeling of being proud and forlorn…Medyo nag-eemo ba. Haaaay, I still remember his first weeks in pre-school, when he didn’t want to be left behind (imagine how he cried hard!)… but now he even asked us not to take him to school anymore. I remember how he was adamant not to have a “cut” (tule baga) forever… but last summer, he practically prepared himself for it. I remember how I have to wait outside an open CR door while he is doing his pupu…. e ngayun, he keeps me out of his room while he’s changing. And how he clings to his old grumpy pillow since he was 4… but now he can sleep all by himself…. How can I forget every night since his year 2 to year 10 that i have to “hilot-paa” (massage) for him to get to sleep (nagpangakuan pa kami tigil na kami pag 8 na siya… but it lasted till his 10th year)…. and now i have to “bribe” him in order for him to sleep beside me…. haaaay… am I just getting old to feel this? Feeling grumpy again! Well, we are getting old,,, and so does the kids…

So much for that “emoting” …. Ang gusto ko iwento ay about our “quest” of choosing his High School…

He is now HS in Barcelona Academy, a new school run by veteran educators and preacher. I have a quite long list of schools to choose from and I actually had a hard time deciding. Jolo and I actually spent a pizza-moment one time to weigh the schools of our choice. BSU is on top of our list, but for some reason (probably a good sign), he was short-listed. It is quite far, and very tiring for Jolo to go to and from. We also have St. Mary’s and MC in our list. We almost enrolled in St. Michael. Barcelona Academy is in our list, but it is its first year to operate, so i have my hesitation.

Finally, while I was about to decide, I came across Bro Bo Sanchez blog, and he featured Barcelona Academy, telling the story actually of the humble beginning of its owner (wife) and the faith and mission of the husband… and it awed me… I texted the number with few questions and Ms. Tess Barcelona personally called me. I met the couple later and has finally decided that this might be the school that will help my son form his adolescent years….

As I look at Jolo, I know I am proud of him… (pero emote pa rin) and i trust him that he can handle what life will have to offer him… of course with our guidance… and faith and perseverance…

(101 note: #11 is now slashed-off)

Leave a Reply

