TSP: Missing Our Old Habit: Hilot-Paa for Jolo

Standard

He is now 13! He is now taller than me… he is so awkwardly odd and handsome… he talks slangishly weird… he laughs like his father… he is now into piano, guitar, rubix cubes and skateboard… he is into Harry Potter books doing marathon reading… he worries about his pimples…he just had his hair “relaxed”… he shuns me from his room…. he “forbids” me to look at his cellphone… but last night, he asked me to “hilot-paa”*; awesome :)!

*hilot-paa used to be our bedtime ritual since he was two, for him to sleep (plus his tini-smelly pillow)… massaging, (tickling actually) his foot one at a time till he gets asleep…. until we “agreed” (or rather “fought”) to halt it by his 10th birthday. it was getting difficult for me to reach his foot, and for him to do some body contortion…

Last night, I willingly (and longingly) obliged! It doesn’t matter now even I have a long queue of things to do with my tax clients, it doesn’t matter even if it will mean I will fall asleep too, it doesn’t matter even if we do major body contortion! i love it, I missed it! We both missed it!

Happy birthday! Love you, Jolo… anytime, anak…

Oh, by the way, he is still playing with his Lego… :>

Leave a Reply

