Teenage Moment

Standard

(Catch-up post: Feb 2013)

Last night was unplanned. I never intend to eat dinner actually, not that hungry, but since Jolo was having his dinner (seldom I see that), I dined with him. Small talks lead to 2-hr conversation between a mother and a teenage son, who talked about school, friends, girls, dates, kiss and the sacred act 😦 and his take about all of it… (Imagine: son: unashamed, mum: outwardly cool but secretly aghast)… But I’m glad he let me “in” in this stage of his life…

The mother in me wanted to protest and get freaky over some certain stuff but i restrained myself… 🙂 i let him brag about his courting style, his ways of “learning” all these… (he do research and lot of reading, mind you). I have also snippet of info about how he treats girls. I might not call him a total gentleman, but he surely cares about the girls he treats as friends, reminding or warning them of what to act and not to act around boys (like him). At this point, he claimed he considered himself an “informed” kid but not rushing on things (thankfully! wheew!). He likes to be “popular” (he’s quite so in twitter), but despised his other friends who go to the length of being a “social-climber”… This fad about his twitter thing, I feel, is beginning to wane, i know so… He doesn’t stick much on stuff that are just “trending”. He shifts and tries again other stuff, or go back to his most favorites hobbies, like skating, reading, art and music (still a handful).

This boy is not anymore a boy… I have to remind myself… I pray that he retains his values (or any good values I like to think I have taught him)…. I hope I will be there for him or he wants me to be there for him in times of ups and downs…

This is a new phase for the boy… and the mum…

JOLO 15

See Jolo in my early blogs in his early years when he was so innocent and still my “little boy”…. (mom’s still emoting…)
My Boy – 2009
Deciding for High School – 2010

2 responses »

  1. I will be freaking and so full of insecurity if I were in your shoes.grabe, just thinking of my son having interest in girls other than me,hahaha.
    I have to grow up along with my child,hehe.
    youre so cool talaga mam abel, hats off po talaga ako sa ‘mothering’ style nyo 🙂

    • haha, you don’t know how I almost had a heart attack… yes, maybe because I tried to grow up with him… looking, observing closely as they change and taking interest on many things (other than me)… But I thought I was prepared for that (“girls-talk”), I was not… It bothers me and worries me to the bone… but what we can do… we just do the best we can… bless them, guide them, listen to them and esp pray! Regards to you… nice you dropped by (it’s been awhile since I blogged… I have a lot in my “draft” that I have to post pa pala…) 🙂 Mizpah!

Leave a Reply

